Washington, DC – Day Trip 3 – Anne Arundel County 5B

We’re still in famous Annapolis, Maryland, on a fabulous day trip, with lots of choices in this multipart series!
The following entries highlight some famous American women, as Maryland is the only American state which has documented and highlighted the contribution of its women. I started this journey in March, as it is Women’s History Month in America, but there were enough special women to continue this into April. Enjoy!

WILLIAM PACA HOUSE AND GARDEN
186 Prince George Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-267-7619

Mary Chew was the daughter of one of Maryland’s prominent and wealthy families. With her marriage in 1763 to William Paca, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, she helped ensure his social and economic position. Their mansion and extensive garden in Annapolis began construction 4 days after they married. She was regarded as a deft hostess, which was the epitome that women of the time could regard as success.

PRIMOSE HILL
3 Milkshake Lane, Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Primose Hill was the home of colonial artist John Hesselius and his wife, Mary Young Woodward. The property was known first as Young’s Inn, as it had been owned by Samuel Young, who left it to his son Richard Young, from whom Mary inherited it in 1748.

When she married Henry Woodward in June 1755, the local “Maryland Gazette” described her as a daughter and heiress with a “pretty fortune”. But, Woodward died in September 1761, leaving his widow and four young children.

Mary then married John Hesselius, America’s first successful native-born artist. And, she continued to live at Primose Hill even after his death in 1778.

She opened her home to gatherings of local followers of Methodism, and a 1905 history of Anne Arundel County described Mary Hesselius as an “intellectual, earnest believer, brilliant in conversation.” What a pity that bright women could not make a more independent, contributing life back then.

LUCY SMITH HOUSE
160 Prince George Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Lucy Smith and her husband, John, were a free Black couple, who became tenants of this house, which was built between 1735-1747. From there, “Aunt Lucy” operated a successful bakeshop, and, meanwhile, John operated a livery stable, carting and carriage business at the rear of the house.

They purchased the property around 1820 and then it was called Aunt Lucy’s Bake Shop. This was a tremendous accomplishment back then and Annapolis has a thriving history for those interested in Black Studies.

Washington, DC Travel – Archived Articles

©2011 mystic at Travel Vacation Review

Leave a Reply